PhD’s supervised

  • Katerina Mavevska, Beyond the ethnic divide. Erasmus University Rotterdam, 2015 (co-promotor).
  • Judith Raven, Popular Support for Welfare Reforms: On Welfare State Preferences and Welfare State Reforms in the Netherlands. Erasmus University Rotterdam, 2012 (co-promotor).

Current PhD-students

  • Egbert Ribberink, Anti-religiosity, (Leuven University – co-promotor)
  • Lorenzo D’Hooge, Subjective class identity (Tilburg University -promotor)
  • Suardus Ebbinge, Democracy, Discontents, and Institutional Trust (Tilburg University – promotor)


Memberships of PhD-committees

  • Marjolein Jeene, Who should get what and why, under which conditions: Descriptions and explanations of public deservingness opinions, Tilburg University, 2015.
  • Kobe de Keere, Struggling over Self and Society: A Cultural-sociological Analysis of Individualism in Modern Society, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, 2015.
  • Rosa van Santen, Popularization and Personalization in Dutch Television Journalism. Ascor, University of Amsterdam, 2012.
  • Bram Spruyt, Living Apart Together? Over de gevolgen van opleidingsverschillen in de symbolische samenleving. Vrije Universiteit Brussel, 2012.
  • Giedo Jansen, Social Cleavages and Political Choices; Large-scale Comparisons of Social Class, Religion and Voting Behavior in Western Democracies, Radboud Universiteit, 2011.
  • Maarten Berg, Geluk in landen, Een empirische studie naar condities voor een gelukkige samenleving. Erasmus University Rotterdam, 2010.